Assigning Roles and Permissions

tFLOW
Assigning Roles and Permissions
 
Each time a new company is created in tFLOW, a default rights/permission set — called a ROLE — is created for that company. A ROLE gives each tFLOW user (of the owner company) specific permissions suited to their everyday tasks.
 
To create a ROLE an “Owner Company” must exist. By default, each time a company is created, a “Customer Role” is created for that company. ROLES, by default, are created with a basic CUSTOMER permissions preset.
 
The default customer preset allows users to upload artwork, approved jobs, manage basic order and job parameters, add/read/reply to comments, download a PDF preflight report, download a low-resolution PDF of the artwork, and view the proof.
 
You may find that different sets of permissions may be needed for each owner company to accommodate different users within a single company.
 
To create an additional ROLE, click the NEW ROLE button, then follow the steps listed below.
To modify an existing ROLE set, select a ROLE and click the edit button on the right, then follow the steps listed below.
To delete an unused ROLE, select a ROLE and click the trash can button on the right.
 
Roles Settings: Main Tab
 
  1. MAIN > OWNER COMPANY  Identifies the OWNER COMPANY in which this role can be used. When creating a new role, from the drop-down list, select the company in which this role will be used. NOTE: This setting cannot be modified when editing a ROLE.
  2. MAIN > NAME  Give the role a NAME to help identify what rights/permissions are assigned to this role.
  3. MAIN > DESCRIPTION  Add a description to describe what rights/permissions are assigned to this role.
 
 
Roles Settings: Member Users Tab
 
  1. MEMBER USERS > ADD NEW USER  Use this button to create a new user for the OWNER COMPANY if one doesn’t  already exist. NOTE: Users can also be created under the Settings > User menu.
  2. MEMBER USERS > Drop-down List  From the MEMBER USERS drop-down list, select the users of the OWNER COMPANY that you want to have this set of rights/permissions.
 
 
Roles Settings: Permissions Tab
From the drop-down menu, APPLY PERMISSIONS PRESET, choose one of the eight (8) default permission presets to change the Workflow Permissions and the UI Application Permissions for each user or select the settings of your choice for this role.
 
 
 
1. APPLY PERMISSION PRESET  Default setting presets of ROLE for workflow and user interface
   application permissions.
2. WORKFLOW  Select the workflow to be used in the current ROLE.
  • One-step workflow: After the artwork is uploaded the job is preflighted, a proof created, and a notification is sent for approval from the customer.
  • Two-step workflow: After the artwork is uploaded the job is preflighted, a proof created, and a notification is sent for an internal user’s (site owner) approval. After the internal approval, a second notification is sent to the customer for approval.
3. UI APPLICATION PERMISSIONS  Choose the permissions to be assigned to the current ROLE.
   (See below for definitions.)
 
 
Default Permission Presets: Administrator
 
  1. ADMINISTRATOR  Default settings in the ADMINISTRATOR permissions preset.
 
 
Default Permission Presets: Customer
 
  1. CUSTOMER  Default settings in the CUSTOMER permissions preset.
 
 
Default Permission Presets: Customer Service
 
  1. CUSTOMER SERVICE  Default settings in the CUSTOMER SERVICE permissions preset.
 
 
Default Permission Presets: General Manager
 
  1. GENERAL MANAGER  Default settings in the GENERAL MANAGER permissions preset.
 
 
Default Permission Presets: Prepress
 
  1. PREPRESS  Default settings in the PREPRESS permissions preset.
 
 
Default Permission Presets: Production
 
  1. PRODUCTION  Default settings in the PRODUCTION permissions preset.
 
 
Default Permission Presets: Production Manager
 
  1. PRODUCTION MANAGER  Default settings in the PRODUCTION MANAGER permissions preset.
 
 
Default Permission Presets: Sales
 
  1. SALES  Default settings in the SALES permissions preset.
 
 
ROLES: UI Application Permissions
Users can be assigned roles from permission presets or can be manually managed by choosing from the list
of UI Application Permissions.
 
DISPLAY NAME
DESCRIPTION OF PERMISSION
Manage Advanced Order Parameters
When this role is granted, it is assumed that the Manage Basic Orders is also granted.
This permission allows editing of the following ORDER parameters:
• User assignments
• tFLOW queues assignment
• Preflight profile
• Owning client
• Propagating changes (That is, changes to an order affect all enclosed jobs.)
Manage Basic Order Parameters
Allows editing of the following ORDER parameters:
• Name
• Description
• All dynamic properties
Admin Orders
Currently not used.
Manage Advanced Job Parameters
When this role is granted, it is assumed that the Manage Basic Jobs is also granted.
Allows editing of the following JOB parameters:
• User assignments
• tFlow queues assignment
• Preflight profile
Manage Basic Job Parameters
Allows editing of the following JOB parameters:
• Name
• Description
• All dynamic properties
Admin Jobs
This role is needed to perform any action with a JOB via “Low-Level administration” page.
Also, the user must have this role to delete revisions of a job.
Admin Users
This role is needed to perform any action with a USER via “Low-Level administration”
page.
Manage Comments
Allow adding and/or editing of COMMENTS.
Read Comments
Allow only reading of COMMENTS.
Admin Comments
Same as manage COMMENTS.
Admin Clients
Allows editing of COMPANY properties
(both via “Low-Level administration” and via admin section).
Admin Roles
Allows editing of workgroup properties
(both via “Low-Level administration” and via admin section).
Admin Workflows
Currently not used.
Download PDF Report
Allows user to download PDF PREFLIGHT REPORT.
The job must be not in the status “Waiting Approval,” “Waiting for Revision”,
or “Waiting for Artwork.”
Download Production File
Allows user to download preflighted PDF file.
The preflighted PDF file must exist. (That is, the preflighting process must be completed.)
Download Lowres PDF
Allows user to download LOW-RES PDF FILE for review. The Low-Res PDF must exist.
Download Original Artwork
Allows the user to download the ORIGINAL ARTWORK that was uploaded as a job.
Admin System Preferences
Allows user to change SYSTEM SETTINGS.
Modify Assigned Companies
Allows user to modify COMPANIES that are assigned to users.
Admin Products
Allows user to create, modify, edit, or delete PRODUCTS.
Admin Automation Scripts
Allows user to create, modify, edit, or delete AUTOMATION SCRIPTS.
Disable Send Invitations
Prohibits sending of INVITATIONS for review or approval of jobs.
View Print
Allows user to VIEW the PRODUCTION PDF file.
View Proof
Allows user to VIEW the preflighted PDF proof in the proof layout format.
Allow Undo
Allows user to execute WORKFLOW TRANSITIONS those names that start with “undo.”
Clear Rush
Allows user to remove the RUSH STATUS on Orders and Jobs.
Request Rush Job Status
Allows user to assign RUSH JOB STATUS to jobs in tFLOW.